FAQ’s on FSSAI Act 2017-09-16T06:20:49+00:00


FSSAI is the new food law in India which takes care of food safety & hygiene.

FSSAI stands for – Food Safety Standards Authority of India.

The Food Safety and Standards Bill was passed on 23rd August 2006, and on the statute book as Food Safety & Standards Act, 2006.

The Act has been implemented as a law with effect from 5th August 2011.

FSSAI is a single roof for 9 different laws. FSSAI has decentralized the food safety laws in India.

FDA is the Food & Drug Administration office which acts as an enforcement arm to FSSAI.

FSSAI has its central office in Delhi.The FSSAI applications have to be submitted to FDA offices in all other states.

A Food Business Operator is called an FBO.

He can be a hawker, manufacturer, trader, re packer, relabeller, distributor, importer, exporter, etc

Any food business operator has to apply for FSSAI. It includes all the

  • Hotels,
  • Restaurants,
  • Food Chains,
  • Packaged Food Manufacturers,
  • Food Sellers and Resellers,
  • Canteens in Corporate Companies,
  • Schools,
  • Colleges,
  • Hospitals,
  • Government Institutions,
  • Food Importers and Exporters,
  • Raw Material Suppliers

… and all who are related to Food Businesses.

The following Acts/Orders mentioned in second schedule of the Act are going to be repealed in Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006:

1. Prevention of Food Adulteration Act, 1954

2. Fruit Products Order, 1955

3. Meat Food Products Order, 1973

4. Vegetable Oil Products (Control) Order, 1947

5. Edible Oils Packaging (Regulation) Order, 1998

6. Solvent Extracted Oil, De oiled Meal, and Edible Flour (Control) Order, 1967

7. Milk and Milk Products Order, 1992

8. Any other order under Essential Commodities Act, 1955 relating to food

The representative of the consumer organizations are members of the Food Authorities and Central Advisory Committee.

The consumer may analyze the samples of food on payment of fees.

The in case of injury of death of consumer there is a provision for compensation to the consumer as mentioned in FAQ’s on FSSAI Act.

The Food Authority consists of a Chairperson and 22 members out of which

  • 7 ex-officio members represent the Ministries or Departments of Central Government viz. Agriculture, Commerce, Consumer Affairs, Food Processing, Health, Legislative Affairs, Small Scale Industries ;
  • Two representatives from food industry ;
  • Two representatives from consumer organizations ;
  • Three eminent food technologists or scientists ;
  • Five members to represent the States and the Union Territories on the rotation basis ;
  • Two persons to represent farmers‟ organizations and

one person to represent retailers‟ organizations.


Hire India’s best FSSAI Expert to consult on the FAQ’s on FSSAI Act

Get Free Fssai Expert Guidance